Condensed matter physics

Cherwell-Simon Lecture 2012

18 May 2012 - 4:30pm to 5:30pm
Martin Wood Lecture Theatre
General public (Age 14+)


Professor Anton Zeilinger

University of Vienna and Scientific Director of the Institute of Quantum Optics and Quantum Information of the Austrian Academy of Sciences

For more information contact: 

5 August 2020

Next-gen solar tech

Oxford’s Department of Physics along with Swansea University and Imperial College London have been awarded £6 million from the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) to drive next-generation solar technology into new applications.

29 July 2020

Innovation in the spotlight

The Department of Physics was recognised in the Vice-Chancellor's Innovation Awards this year coming highly commended in both the ‘team work’ and ‘building capacity’ categories.


1 July 2020

Detecting SARS-CoV-2 in less than 5 minutes

A group of researchers from the Department of Physics at Oxford University are working on ways to tackle the COVID-19 pandemic. The group, led by Dr Nicole Robb and Professor Achillefs Kapanidis, are working on the development of ultrafast COVID-19 diagnostic tests, as well as using computational modelling to study virus reinfection dynamics.

1 July 2020

Professor Séamus Davis awarded Olli V Lounasmaa Memorial Prize

Professor Séamus Davis from Oxford’s Department of Physics has been awarded the Olli V Lounasmaa Memorial Prize 2020. The prize is awarded once every four years to a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to advances on low temperature physics and related fields and is named in honour of the founder of the Low Temperature Laboratory at Aalto University.

24 June 2020

Untapping the potential of antiferromagnets using light

Researchers from the University of Oxford’s Department of Physics and the Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter (MPSD) have managed to drive a prototypical antiferromagnet into a new magnetic state using terahertz frequency light. Their groundbreaking method produced an effect orders of magnitude larger than previously achieved, and on ultrafast time scales. The team’s work has just been published in Nature Physics.

20 June 2020

Oxford physicist at the European Parliament on improving healthcare with nanotech

Professor Sonia Contera’s book, Nano comes to life, is a study of how and why nanotechnology is transforming medicine and the future of biology and, in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, the topic is the subject of a workshop at the European Parliament.

The Quantum Information Society invites you to a Q&A Session with Scott Aaronson

9 Jun 2020 - 3:00pm
General public (Age 14+)

The Quantum Information Society invites you to a Q&A Session With Scott Aaronson

We extend the invitation from Aleksei Malyshev, the president of the Quantum Information Society (University of Oxford)

For more information contact: 

3 June 2020

Welcome to the family!

The Department of Physics is delighted to welcome eight new Associate Professor Tutorial Fellows to its academic staff.

‘We are thrilled to be joined by such fantastic new colleagues,’ enthuses Professor Ian Shipsey, Head of Department. ‘Each one brings with them their rich experience, cutting-edge research and insightful teaching practice. As leading experts in their fields, the entire department is very excited for what the future holds. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the search committees for their excellent work in identifying such exceptional talent.’

10 May 2020

Horizon 2020 grant for PeroCUBE

Oxford's Department of Physics is pleased to announce a Horizon 2020 Grant for perovskite-based lighting, wearables and fabric devices with LiFi and photovoltaic capability has been approved and started 1 April 2020.

The EU H2020-funded project PeroCUBE aims at developing flexible, lightweight perovskite-based electronics, creating new commercial opportunities for the lighting, energy and telecom industries. The consortium brings together 14 industrial and academic partners from 10 European countries.