Theoretical physics

News involving the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics

31 July 2012

Physics newsletter 2012 now available

Summer 2012

Our latest Department newsletter is now available to download in PDF format here. Have a look at the wide range of work that we do in front-line research, teaching, public outreach and school education. We would welcome contributions to future newsletters from undergraduate or postgraduate alumni and previous members of the physics department.

73rd Harden Conference 'Machines on Genes II'

19 Aug 2012 (All day) to 23 Aug 2012 (All day)
St Anne's College, 56 Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 6HS
Specialised / research interest

73rd Harden Conference - Machines on Genes II - The central dogma at the interface of biology, chemistry and physics
19—23 August 2012

St Anne's College, Oxford, UK

23 July 2012

More awards for Oxford Physicists

Congratulations to Yulin Chen (Condensed Matter) who has been awarded the prestigious Outstanding Young Researcher Award of the International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers, with the following citation:

20 July 2012

STFC Ernest Rutherford Fellowships

STFC have announce the 2012 round of Ernest Rutherford Fellowships. These are prestigious 5 year fellowships which may be held in any of the science areas supported by STFC. See oxford physics opportunities for further details about applying to hold one of these fellowships here.

3 July 2012

2012 Institute of Physics Prizes

Jocelyn Bell Burnell has been elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Physics.

Katherine Blundell has been awarded the Bragg Medal "For promoting engagement in and learning of physics both by carrying research in astronomy into schools in developing countries and by helping graduate students and postdocs in the UK to talk to schoolchildren about their science."

2 July 2012

Dirac Medal awarded to Prof Graham Ross FRS

Prof Graham Ross FRS has been awarded the 2012 Dirac Medal of the UK Institute of Physics for his theoretical work in developing both the Standard Model of fundamental particles and forces and theories beyond the Standard Model that have led to many new insights into the origins and nature of the universe.


18 June 2012

Dr Guido Bell as a Royal Society University Research Fellow

The Particle Theory Group is pleased to welcome Dr Guido Bell as a Royal Society University Research Fellow from October 2012. Guido did his undergraduate studies at Aachen (including an year abroad in Toulouse and another in Granada). He obtained his PhD from Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich in 2006 and has held postdoctoral positions in Karlsruhe and Bern. His research is focussed on quantum chromodynamics, in particular the technically challenging computation of higher order corrections.


14 June 2012

Dr Joseph Conlon awarded ERC starting grant

Dr Joseph Conlon has been awarded an ERC Starting Grant to study supersymmetry breaking directly in string theory.


16 May 2012

Application submitted for Athena Swan Silver Award

Physics has long been a male-dominated subject. To fulfil the department's scientific mission, it is vital that we use the full potential of the population and redress that imbalance. Since 2010, the department has been developing a portfolio of new and existing actions to improve the employment conditions and practice for all staff and students. Good practice benefits everyone, but disproportionately benefits women. These actions, and the critical assessment that led to them, are described in our application for an Athena Swan Silver Award.

15 May 2012

Maxwell Medal awarded to Dr Andrei Starinets

Dr Andrei Starinets was awarded the 2011 Maxwell Medal of the UK Institute of Physics for his work on the gauge-gravity correspondence which relates quantum gauge theories to gravitational systems.

The medal is awarded for outstanding contributions to theoretical Physics, mathematical or computational Physics. Dr Starinets joins other distinguished past winners from the Rudolf Peierls Centre: Prof Richard Dalitz (1966), Sir Roger Elliott (1968), Prof Anthony Leggett (1975), Prof Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith (1979), Prof James Binney (1986) and Dr John Wheater (1993).