Theoretical physics

News involving the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics

16 July 2013

James Binney awarded the 2013 Medal of the Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris

Professor James Binney, Head of the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, has been awarded the medal of the Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris. Professor Binney received the medal at the end of June from Professor Laurent Vigroux, Director of the IAP, at a ceremony in the 17th century Observatoire de Paris.

16 April 2013

Prof Julia Yeomans awarded the EPJE - Pierre Gilles De Gennes Lecture Prize

Prof Julia Yeomans, Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics has been awarded the EPJE Pierre Gilles De Gennes Lecture Prize, for her profound contribution to the study of the dynamical behaviour of complex and active liquids in confined geometries.


4 March 2013

Niels Bohr Professorship award for Subir Sarkar

Subir Sarkar, Head of the Particle Theory Group in the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics has been named Niels Bohr Professor 2013-18 by the Danish National Research Foundation. The award of 29 million kroner (~3.4 million pounds) is for setting up an international research group at the Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen in astroparticle physics. Titled "Connecting Inner Space & Outer Space" this will cover both fundamental theory and participation in novel experiments e.g. the IceCube neutrino observatory at the South Pole.


8 February 2013

The Steve Rawlings Memorial Fund

Message from Roger Davies, Philip Wetton Professor of Astrophysics, University of Oxford

Dear all,

The 11th January this year marked the first anniversary of Steve Rawlings’ death. It has been a very difficult twelve months – Steve was a much loved colleague and is greatly missed as both a person and a phenomenal astrophysicist.

7 February 2013

Prof Frank Close's book "Neutrino" shortlisted for Italian book prize

Prof Frank Close's book "Neutrino", about Ray Davis' 40 year quest to find solar neutrinos, has been shortlisted for the Italian popular science book prize: Premio Letterario Galileo 2013.

The winner will be announced in Padua on May 9. The original Neutrino was published by OUP.


4 February 2013

New Blogs section

A new section available

A new section with blogs has been made available, and a few new blogs have been started already: Astro, Funding news, OSMOSIS Research Cruise and Alumni are already up.

To visit, go to the top menu at the home page -> MORE -> BLOGS

11 January 2013

Professor James Binney is awarded the RAS Eddington Medal 2013

The Eddington Medal is awarded for investigations of outstanding merit in astrophysics and in 2013 is awarded to Professor James Binney from the University of Oxford, in recognition of his fundamental and enduring contributions to galactic astrophysics. Prof.

Cosmological Tests of Gravity

14 Mar 2013 - 9:00am to 15 Mar 2013 - 5:00pm
Martin Wood Lecture Theatre
Specialised / research interest

The Beecroft Institute of Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology at the University of Oxford is hosting two single day workshops on the 14th and 15th of March, 2013. The first one will be on "Cosmological Tests of Gravity" and the goal is to discuss recent progress and remaining issues in developing theoretical frameworks for probing gravitational physics with upcoming cosmological surveys.

The questions we wish to address include:

For more information contact: 

"Cosmological Tests of Gravity" workshop -
Euclid workshop -

The Beecroft Institute Workshop on the Axiverse

11 Jan 2013 - 9:30am to 5:00pm
Fisher Room
Specialised / research interest

Axions are a well motivated candidate to compose a fraction of the dark matter in the universe as observationally required from cosmological measurements. They are predicted independently as a resolution to the strong CP problem in particle physics. Axion cosmology has a long and fruitful history dating from the 1980's. With the advent of precision cosmology in recent decades it has gained new attention.

For more information contact: 

29 October 2012

Prof Giulia Zanderighi awarded a Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award from the Humboldt Foundation

Giulia Zanderighi, Professor of Physics at the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, has obtained a Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award from the Humboldt Foundation, Germany. These are awarded to internationally renowned academics from abroad in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments in research to date and their exceptional promise for the future.