Oxford scientist takes his research to Parliament

13 March 2014

Dr. Mitya Pushkin, a PDRA at the University of Oxford, hailing from Minsk, Belarus is attending Parliament to present his physics research to a range of politicians and a panel of expert judges, as part of SET for Britain on Monday 17 March.

Mitya’s poster on research about fluctuations and mixing that occur in suspensions of of swimming microorganisms, such as bacteria and algae, will be judged against dozens of other scientists’ research in the only national competition of its kind. Mitya has carried out this work in collaboration with Prof. Julia M. Yeomans, FRS in the Soft Condensed Matter group at the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, Oxford.

Mitya was shortlisted from hundreds of applicants to appear in Parliament.

On presenting his research in Parliament, he said, "I would like to shape the excitement of realizing that we live in a time when answers to fundamental physical questions may turn out simple and elegant, and may have immediate consequences for technological, medical and environmental applications".

Andrew Miller MP, Chairman of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, said, “This annual competition is an important date in the parliamentary calendar because it gives MPs an opportunity to speak to a wide range of the country's best young researchers.

"These early career engineers, mathematicians and scientists are the architects of our future and SET for Britain is politicians’ best opportunity to meet them and understand their work."

Mitya's research has been entered into the Physics session of the competition, which will end in a gold, silver and bronze prize-giving ceremony.

Judged by leading academics, the gold medalist receives £3,000, while silver and bronze receive £2,000 and £1,000 respectively.

The Parliamentary and Scientific Committee run the event in collaboration with the Council for Mathematical Sciences, the Institute of Physics, The Physiological Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Society of Biology and the Society of Chemical Industry, with financial support from BP, the Clay Mathematics Institute, Essar, INEOS, Warwick Manufacturing Group (WMG), Germains Seed Technology, Boeing, the Bank of England and the Institute of Biomedical Science.