Featured News

Professor Philip Burrows wiht CLIC prototype structure at TMD Technologies
3 February 2021

Professor Philip Burrows has been working with UK company TMD Technologies to design key elements of a next-generation electron-positron collider at CERN. Professor Burrows leads the Compact Linear Collider (CLIC) Collaboration which is preparing the design of the collider that could serve as a ‘factory’ for mass-producing Higgs bosons. Such a Higgs factory has been identified by the global particle physics community as its top priority for a next-generation subatomic particle collider facility.

Professor Ian Shipsey
13 January 2021

Today, UKRI announced the launch of the Quantum Technologies for Fundamental Physics (QTFP) programme that will support scientists using quantum technology to study the universe in new ways in order to determine the nature of dark matter, detect gravitational waves and study the physics of black holes. Professor Ian Shipsey is Head of the Department of Physics at Oxford and has championed the programme since its inception:

Peter Hatfield
10 December 2020

Dr Peter Hatfield from Oxford’s Department of Physics is one of five academics to have been awarded a brand new fellowship from intelligence, security and cyber agency GCHQ. Charged with researching technology challenges relevant to national security priorities, Dr Hatfield’s work will be considering "secure" use of artificial intelligence – how to use AI to reliably understand data for global physics challenges.

The Virus Factory
7 December 2020

How 10-year-olds are getting a taste of cutting-edge science

A programme run by the Department of Physics at Oxford is giving pupils in years 5 and 6 the opportunity to take part in a real science research project, learn how scientists study viruses and meet the scientists themselves.

Headshots of highly cited researchers from the Department of Physics
24 November 2020

Some 52 researchers from the University of Oxford have been named on this year’s Highly Cited Researchers list – eight of which are from the Department of Physics. The annual list identifies researchers who demonstrated significant influence in their chosen field or fields through the publication of multiple highly cited papers during the last decade.

The following academics from the Department of Physics appeared in this year’s list: Michele Cappellari, Yulin Chen, Laura Herz, Geert Jan Oldenborgh, Michael Johnston, Henry Snaith, Stephen J Tucker and Wei Zhang.

CHIME telescope
13 November 2020

Every year, the Department of Physics hosts two key public lectures focusing on contemporary developments in astrophysics and cosmology: the Hintze lectures. This month’s lecture on 24 November at 5pm is the 20th lecture and marks ten years of fascinating talks given by leading researchers from around the world.

Institute of Physics' Rosalind Franklin Medal
30 October 2020

The Physics of Life UK Network (PoLNET) steering group has been awarded the Institute of Physics’ Rosalind Franklin Medal and Prize.

The medal is in recognition of the network bringing physicists and biologists together to stimulate new, adventurous partnerships at the interface between physics, the life sciences and medicine.

Adam Nahum headshot
2 October 2020

Adam Nahum from the University of Oxford’s Department of Physics has been awarded the Philippe Meyer Prize in Theoretical Physics 2020. The prize recognises his ground-breaking contributions to the dynamics of non-integrable quantum many-body systems, in particular through the study of random quantum circuits.

17 August 2020

Quantum information leaks away from a muon implanted in a fluoride crystal

A team from the Department of Physics at Oxford University has observed the decoherence process that occurs within quantum mechanical systems. Despite the many potential advantages of quantum computation, the integrity of any quantum mechanical system is vulnerable to interactions with its environment which cause any stored information to be slowly lost – decoherence.

17 July 2020

The Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS) has released a comprehensive analysis of the largest three-dimensional map of the Universe ever created, filling in the most significant gaps in our possible exploration of its history.