Professor Amalia Coldea and cryostat
27 November 2020

Professor Amalia Coldea from Oxford University’s Department of Physics has been awarded the Institute of Physics’ Brian Pippard Prize. The prize is awarded every two years to a scientist working in the UK who has made a significant contribution to the field of superconductivity, with particular emphasis given to recent work.

Headshots of highly cited researchers from the Department of Physics
24 November 2020

Some 52 researchers from the University of Oxford have been named on this year’s Highly Cited Researchers list – eight of which are from the Department of Physics. The annual list identifies researchers who demonstrated significant influence in their chosen field or fields through the publication of multiple highly cited papers during the last decade.

The following academics from the Department of Physics appeared in this year’s list: Michele Cappellari, Yulin Chen, Laura Herz, Geert Jan Oldenborgh, Michael Johnston, Henry Snaith, Stephen J Tucker and Wei Zhang.

CHIME telescope
13 November 2020

Every year, the Department of Physics hosts two key public lectures focusing on contemporary developments in astrophysics and cosmology: the Hintze lectures. This month’s lecture on 24 November at 5pm is the 20th lecture and marks ten years of fascinating talks given by leading researchers from around the world.

Gianluca Gregori headshot
9 November 2020

Professor Gianluca Gregori has been awarded the American Physical Society’s John Dawson Award for excellence in plasma physics research – for the second year in a row.

Headshot Wilber Lim
6 November 2020

Wilber Lim is a theoretical physics graduate student at the Department of Physics. Every year, the department welcomes some 100 graduate students – some of the brightest minds in the world – to work alongside established experts and conduct authoritative research with an international audience. Our graduate students bring to their studies and their science a fresh perspective, an insatiable curiosity and a passion to further society’s understanding of our Universe.

Challenges and changes mini-series
3 November 2020

The Department of Physics is running a new mini-series of lectures entitled ‘Challenges and Changes’ and hosted by Dr Alex Ramadan [she/her].

Hybrid metal halide perovskites at atomic resolution
30 October 2020

For the first time, researchers from Oxford’s Departments of Physics and Materials have managed to image hybrid metal halide perovskites with atomic-scale resolution providing new insights into these wonder-materials. A paper published in Science shares the groups’ findings about the materials’ remarkable self-healing powers; the findings further our critical understanding of how such perovskites work and are an essential step closer to the commercial production of perovskite solar cells.

Institute of Physics' Rosalind Franklin Medal
30 October 2020

The Physics of Life UK Network (PoLNET) steering group has been awarded the Institute of Physics’ Rosalind Franklin Medal and Prize.

The medal is in recognition of the network bringing physicists and biologists together to stimulate new, adventurous partnerships at the interface between physics, the life sciences and medicine.

Headshot Simon Hooker
29 October 2020

Professor Simon Hooker from the University of Oxford’s Department of Physics has been awarded the Institute of Physics’ Cecilia Payne-Gaposchkin Medal and Prize in recognition of his distinguished contributions to plasma physics.

Pioneering contributions

The award recognises in particular Professor Hooker’s pioneering contributions to the development of high-power plasma waveguides and their application to laser-driven plasma accelerators.

Headshot Becky Smethurst
29 October 2020

Dr Becky Smethurst from the University of Oxford’s Department of Physics has been awarded the Mary Somerville Medal by the Institute of Physics. The medal, awarded for exceptional early career contributions to public engagement within physics, is in recognition of the success of Becky’s YouTube channel, Dr Becky.