Department of Physics celebrates highly cited researchers

24 November 2020

Headshots of highly cited researchers from the Department of Physics

Some 52 researchers from the University of Oxford have been named on this year’s Highly Cited Researchers list – eight of which are from the Department of Physics. The annual list identifies researchers who demonstrated significant influence in their chosen field or fields through the publication of multiple highly cited papers during the last decade.

The following academics from the Department of Physics appeared in this year’s list: Michele Cappellari, Yulin Chen, Laura Herz, Geert Jan Oldenborgh, Michael Johnston, Henry Snaith, Stephen J Tucker and Wei Zhang.

Professor of Astrophysics, Michele Cappellari, comments: ‘I am a scientist because I enjoy it – but that would not be enough to justify my efforts. I also aim for my work to make an impact in the scientific community and ultimately in society; being in the Highly Cited Researchers list is one way to know that my research made a significant impact.’

Professor Laura Herz also features in this year’s list and is Associate Head of the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences division for research and comments: ‘I am really delighted to be included in the 2020 Highly Cited Researchers List. It is fantastic to see so many researchers from a number of different MPLS departments represented which demonstrates the strong research base we have within the division and across the university as a whole.’

Names are drawn from the publications that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and publication year in the Web of Science citation index.

See the list and find out more here: