The Oxford Doctoral Training Partnership in Environmental Research

5 November 2013

The Minister for Universities and Science, David Willetts, yesterday announced that the University of Oxford was one of 15 Universities to be awarded part of £100m of new NERC investment in Doctoral Training Partnerships (DTPs).

The Department of Physics is one of the core departments of the Oxford DTP in Environmental Research, offering a novel training environment across three broad science streams, including a Physical Climate Science stream of high relevance for Physics undergraduates considering graduate research in Climate Physics.

The DTPs are designed to promote and facilitate multi-disciplinary research, that will provide students with skills, expertise and knowledge relevant to future careers in academia and industry.

The Oxford DTP in Environmental Research will be in delivered in collaboration with a number of key partners national and international including:

  • British Geological Survey
  • Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
  • Met Office
  • National Centre for Atmospheric Science
  • National Centre for Earth Observation
  • National Oceanography Centre
  • Shell Research Ltd
  • Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
  • Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
  • European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts

Further information on Oxford’s DTP can be found on its website.