Niels Bohr Professorship award for Subir Sarkar

4 March 2013

Subir Sarkar, Head of the Particle Theory Group in the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics has been named Niels Bohr Professor 2013-18 by the Danish National Research Foundation. The award of 29 million kroner (~3.4 million pounds) is for setting up an international research group at the Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen in astroparticle physics. Titled "Connecting Inner Space & Outer Space" this will cover both fundamental theory and participation in novel experiments e.g. the IceCube neutrino observatory at the South Pole.

Professor Sarkar has been a frequent visitor to the Bohr Institute (as Peierls was himself in the 1930's) and will divide his time between Copenhagen and Oxford over the next 5 years. He was presented with the award on 19 February by Morten Østergaard, Danish Minister for Higher Education at the EliteForsk Conference in Copenhagen.

“There is great potential in linking the two research institutions, Oxford University and the University of Copenhagen,” said Professor Poul Henrik Damgaard, Director of the Niels Bohr International Academy. With Professor Sarkar's appointment, the 'Discovery Center' at the Niels Bohr Institute will use this new opportunity to also move towards research in astroparticle physics, including the interface between cosmology and particle physics.