Publications by Farrukh Azfar

Indirect measurement of sin<sup>2</sup>θw (M<inf>W</inf>) using e<sup>+</sup>e<sup>-</sup> pairs in the Z-boson region with p̄p collisions at a center-of-momentum energy of 1.96 TeV

Physical Review D - Particles, Fields, Gravitation and Cosmology 88 (2013)

T Aaltonen, S Amerio, D Amidei, A Anastassov, A Annovi, J Antos, G Apollinari, JA Appel, T Arisawa, A Artikov, J Asaadi, W Ashmanskas, B Auerbach, A Aurisano, F Azfar, W Badgett, T Bae, A Barbaro-Galtieri, VE Barnes, BA Barnett, P Barria, P Bartos, M Bauce, F Bedeschi, S Behari, G Bellettini, J Bellinger, D Benjamin, A Beretvas, A Bhatti, KR Bland, B Blumenfeld, A Bocci, A Bodek, D Bortoletto, J Boudreau, A Boveia, L Brigliadori, C Bromberg, E Brucken, J Budagov, HS Budd, K Burkett, G Busetto, P Bussey, P Butti, A Buzatu, A Calamba, S Camarda, M Campanelli, F Canelli, B Carls, D Carlsmith, R Carosi, S Carrillo, B Casal, M Casarsa, A Castro, P Catastini, D Cauz, V Cavaliere, M Cavalli-Sforza, A Cerri, L Cerrito, YC Chen, M Chertok, G Chiarelli, G Chlachidze, K Cho, D Chokheli, MA Ciocci, A Clark, C Clarke, ME Convery, J Conway, M Corbo

Drell-Yan lepton pairs are produced in the process p̄p→e +e-+X through an intermediate γ*/Z boson. The lepton angular distributions are used to provide information on the electroweak-mixing parameter sin2θw via its observable effective-leptonic sin2θw, or sinâ¡2θefflept. A new method to infer sin 2θw or, equivalently, the W-boson mass MW in the on-shell scheme, is developed and tested using a previous CDF Run II measurement of angular distributions from electron pairs in a sample corresponding to 2.1 fb-1 of integrated luminosity from p̄p collisions at a center-of-momentum energy of 1.96 TeV. The value of sinâ¡2θefflept is found to be 0.2328±0.0011. Within a specified context of the standard model, this results in sin 2θw=0.2246±0.0011, which corresponds to a W-boson mass of 80.297±0.055 GeV/c2, in agreement with previous determinations in electron-position collisions and at the Tevatron collider. © 2013 American Physical Society.

Show full publication list