Facts and figures

We are proud to be one of the world’s leading Physics departments committed to the advancement to education, research and society employing over 500 people with an annual turnover of about £33m.

The Department of Physics is part of the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Division of the University of Oxford.

We have 140 permanent academic staff, 219 research staff and 151 technical and support staff.

There are 668 undergraduate and 353 graduate students working for degrees in the department.

We receive about £18m of research funding each year from UK Research Councils, mostly STFC and EPSRC with relatively small amounts from NERC and BBSRC, and other agencies.

We occupy five buildings in the north-west part of the Science Area, including our recently opened Beecroft Buildign providing state-of-the-art laboratory space and accommodation for theoreticians.

We have extensive workshop and technical facilities.