23 June 2020

Our latest Department newsletter is now available to download in PDF format (the file may not display correctly with Firefox/Chrome pdf viewers -- in this case save a file and open it with e.g. Acrobat reader or Preview).

Have a look at the wide range of work that we do in front-line research, teaching, public outreach and school education.

20 June 2020

Professor Sonia Contera’s book, Nano comes to life, is a study of how and why nanotechnology is transforming medicine and the future of biology and, in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, the topic is the subject of a workshop at the European Parliament.

19 June 2020

Dr Oliver Tattersall, a Post-Doctoral Research Assistant at the Department of Physics and former graduate student in the department has been named runner-up for the Royal Astronomical Society’s Michael Penston Thesis Prize.

12 June 2020

Dr Simon Calcutt from Oxford’s Department of Physics along with Professor Tom Pike from Imperial College London are leading on a new research project to improve the precision of maritime navigation.

The project aims to develop the MEMS component of a hybrid cold atoms MEMS gravity gradiometer and is funded by the UK Quantum Technology Hub Sensors and Timing, led by the University of Birmingham. It will extend the Hub’s map-matching navigation technology to applications in maritime environments.

11 June 2020

The John Adams Institute at Oxford’s Department of Physics is co-leading a new project that aims to design and develop new radiotherapy technologies to give more cancer patients in Sub-Saharan Africa access to treatment and to save lives.

10 June 2020

Astrophysicist Dr Rebecca Smethurst from the University of Oxford’s Department of Physics has been awarded the Caroline Herschel Prize Lectureship by the William Herschel Society with the Royal Astronomical Society. Becky is a Junior Research Fellow at Christ Church.

‘I am absolutely thrilled to have been chosen to give the Caroline Herschel Prize Lecture,' she comments. 'Herschel was a giant of astronomy, and a trailblazer for women in science. It’s a privilege to have been chosen for an award in her honour.’

8 June 2020

A four-year observing campaign with the UK’s Lovell Telescope of an extraordinary source of Fast Radio Bursts – short duration bursts of radio emission thought to originate in a distant galaxy – has revealed an as yet undiscovered feature of this source. These latest findings have been published in a paper out today, 8 June 2020.

8 June 2020

Research led by Oxford Physicists shows how a novel functional discovery approach can be used to address a longstanding problem in the study of dense plasma opacities.

The work was performed at the FLASH free-electron laser in Hamburg, where femtosecond XUV pulses were focused down to micron spots to create solid density plasmas at temperatures exceeding 200,000 K.

4 June 2020

Professor Philip Burrows has been appointed Director of the John Adams Institute for Accelerator Science (JAI) for a five-year term. The JAI is a three institute centre of excellence for advanced accelerator science and technology based in the Department of Physics at Oxford and at Royal Holloway University of London and Imperial College London.

3 June 2020

The Department of Physics is delighted to welcome eight new Associate Professor Tutorial Fellows to its academic staff.

‘We are thrilled to be joined by such fantastic new colleagues,’ enthuses Professor Ian Shipsey, Head of Department. ‘Each one brings with them their rich experience, cutting-edge research and insightful teaching practice. As leading experts in their fields, the entire department is very excited for what the future holds. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the search committees for their excellent work in identifying such exceptional talent.’