Roger Penrose headshot
6 October 2020

As the winners of this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics are announced as Roger Penrose from the University of Oxford and Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez from the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics and the University of California, Los Angeles respectively, we look at the significance of their ground-breaking work.

Adam Nahum headshot
2 October 2020

Adam Nahum from the University of Oxford’s Department of Physics has been awarded the Philippe Meyer Prize in Theoretical Physics 2020. The prize recognises his ground-breaking contributions to the dynamics of non-integrable quantum many-body systems, in particular through the study of random quantum circuits.

From left to right: Michele Fava, Radu Coldea and Siddharth Parameswaran
28 September 2020

Three physicists at the University of Oxford’s Department of Physics have finally solved puzzles unearthed by one of the trio ten years ago.

26 August 2020

It is with sadness that the Department of Physics announces the death of Dr Brian Buck on 24 July 2020, aged 85.

19 August 2020

The Oxford Physics Endowment for Graduates (OXPEG) was established in 2016 to provide scholarships and flexible support for our graduate students. Every year, some 100 students join the Department of Physics to undertake postgraduate studies. We are exceptionally proud of the breadth and depth of opportunities that we offer our students and we are able to attract some of the brightest minds in the world. Our DPhil students have the chance to work alongside established experts conducting authoritative research with an international audience.

17 August 2020

Quantum information leaks away from a muon implanted in a fluoride crystal

A team from the Department of Physics at Oxford University has observed the decoherence process that occurs within quantum mechanical systems. Despite the many potential advantages of quantum computation, the integrity of any quantum mechanical system is vulnerable to interactions with its environment which cause any stored information to be slowly lost – decoherence.

6 August 2020

Professor Roger Davies has been elected to the Academia Europaea in recognition of his groundbreaking studies of early-type galaxies.

5 August 2020

Oxford’s Department of Physics along with Swansea University and Imperial College London have been awarded £6 million from the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) to drive next-generation solar technology into new applications.

5 August 2020

Professor Patrick Gill MBE FRS has been awarded the Royal Society’s Rumford Medal for outstanding research in the field of physics.

The award recognises Professor Gill’s development of optical atomic clocks of exquisite precision, of ultra-stable lasers and of frequency standards for fundamental physics, quantum information processing, space science, satellite navigation and Earth observation.

29 July 2020

The Department of Physics was recognised in the Vice-Chancellor's Innovation Awards this year coming highly commended in both the ‘team work’ and ‘building capacity’ categories.