13 October 2015

Condensed Matter Physics is delighted to announce that Mr Han Peng, first year postgraduate student, has been awarded the Arthur H Cooke Memorial prize 2015 for distinguished work by a first year research student in Condensed Matter Physics.

Well done Han.

6 October 2015

Winner: Kylash Rajendran, “The Goal"
Runner up: Nathalie Schaller

Winner: Ben Bronselaer
Runner up: Joe Hitchen, “The Pacific Ocean meets Isabela Island"

Winner: Peter Read, “Going, going, gone … "
Runner up: Bethan White, "Double exposure of the lunar eclipse taken from Brill”

The winners and runners-up can be viewed in this attachment. The winning photos from each category will also be framed and displayed in the department.

6 October 2015

Congratulations to the prizewinners at the AOPP Retreat! We had a very high standard of talks and posters but the following stood out in particular for presenting novel physics results in a very clear and engaging presentation.

Best talk: Tobias Thornes for his talk on forecast skill using imprecise computing Runner up: Tomos David for his talk on entropy measures of evolving oceanic flows

Best poster: Cheikh Mbengue for his poster on storm tracks and climate change Runner up: Hannah Christensen for her poster on a new skill score for probabilistic forecasts

23 September 2015

On 22nd September 2015 the contract for HARMONI, the E-ELT first light integral field spectrograph was signed by STFC and

4 September 2015

An exotic particle – the Weyl fermion, has recently been discovered in a compound called tantalum arsenide (TaAs) by an international collaboration of scientists lead by Oxford physicists.

The Weyl fermion is an intriguing chiral massless particle, which was named after the mathematician and physicist, Hermann Weyl in 1930s. Over the past century, it has been the research subject of high energy physicists, and various interesting particles in the universe, including neutrinos, were speculated as Weyl fermions. However, none has been confirmed unfortunately.

2 September 2015

The Physics Department is sad to announce the death of Professor Harry Jones.

Harry, who was 70 in February, joined the department in 1968 and served Oxford Physics for 44 years before formally retiring in 2012. He was well known around the world for his great expertise in superconducting magnets, which formed the basis of high magnetic field work done in the Clarendon Laboratory over very many years. His legacy is kept alive by the newly formed Oxford Centre for Applied Superconductivity.

Our condolences go to his wife Linda, and to his wider family.

17 August 2015

DNA origami is a technique that is used to create nanometre–scale shapes by folding strands of DNA. Writing in the journal Nature, a group of researchers from Condensed Matter Physics, Theoretical Physics and Computer Science at Oxford investigate how DNA origami folds.

14 August 2015

We are delighted to announce that Dr Roger Johnson has been awarded a prestigious Royal Society University Research Fellowship. Dr Johnson has been a post-doc in the Quantum Materials group from November 2010 to June 2015, and he is currently an Instrument Scientist at the ISIS neutron source.

14 August 2015

The Department of Physics is delighted to announce that Prof James Binney, FRS has been awarded the Occhialini medal and prize for 2015. The citation for James' award reads, "For his work on galaxy dynamics, in particular for developing an understanding of how galaxies exchange gas with the intergalactic medium and how this exchange controls the evolution of galaxy morphology."

29 July 2015

Sir Christopher Llewellyn Smith FRS has been awarded the Royal Society 2015 Royal Medal "for his major contributions to the development of the Standard Model, particularly his success in making the case for the building of the Large Hadron Collider.”

Further details can be found here.