Featured News

30 May 2013

Steven Balbus, Savilian Professor of Astronomy, and John Hawley (University of Virginia, USA), have been jointly awarded the 2013 Shaw Prize "for their discovery and study of the magnetorotational instability, and for demonstrating that this instability leads to turbulence and is a viable mechanism for angular momentum transport in astrophysical accretion disks." The Shaw Prize is widely considered to be among the highest honours in astronomy. Further details can be found at http://www.shawprize.org

21 May 2013

A new study led by Oxford University concludes that the latest observations of the climate system's response to rising greenhouse gas levels are consistent with conventional estimates of the long-term 'climate sensitivity', despite a "warming pause" over the past decade.

10 May 2013

Prof Julia Yeomans has been elected to a Fellowship of the Royal Society, the citation on their website is as follows:

Professor of Physics, The Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, University of Oxford

Julia Yeomans is distinguished for her development of novel numerical and analytical modelling tools to investigate a wide range of complex fluids. New approaches are needed for these materials because the physics covers a wide range of length and time scales, from details of microscopic molecular interactions to collective hydrodynamics.

8 May 2013

Visitors to www.spacewarps.org, which was launched on 8 May 2013, are being asked to spot these important astronomical objects, more commonly called ‘gravitational lenses’, in hundreds of thousands of deep sky images. (There is a gravitational lens in the image above, in amongst hundreds of other galaxies - can you spot it?) Armchair astronomers could be the first humans to see these galaxies, each one of which is several billion light years away.

25 March 2013

Europe's Planck satellite has compiled the most detailed map ever of the cosmic microwave background (CMB).

4 March 2013

Subir Sarkar, Head of the Particle Theory Group in the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics has been named Niels Bohr Professor 2013-18 by the Danish National Research Foundation. The award of 29 million kroner (~3.4 million pounds) is for setting up an international research group at the Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen in astroparticle physics. Titled "Connecting Inner Space & Outer Space" this will cover both fundamental theory and participation in novel experiments e.g. the IceCube neutrino observatory at the South Pole.

13 February 2013

Cleantech investment specialists MTI Partners has announced the completion of a £2 million investment round in Oxford Photovoltaics Limited (OPV), an Oxford University spin-out Materials/Cleantech company commercializing solid-state dye sensitized solar cells for the Building Integrated Photovoltaic (BIPV) sector.

Dr Henry Snaith, lecturer and researcher in Condensed Matter, here at the Department of Physics (and Founder and Chief Scientific Officer at Oxford Photovoltaics), said the investment from clean-tech investors MTI Partners will help its solar glass take a step closer to the commer

8 February 2013

Message from Roger Davies, Philip Wetton Professor of Astrophysics, University of Oxford

Dear all,

The 11th January this year marked the first anniversary of Steve Rawlings’ death. It has been a very difficult twelve months – Steve was a much loved colleague and is greatly missed as both a person and a phenomenal astrophysicist.

There has been significant interest in finding a way to memorialise Steve and I am happy to tell you that, with the full backing of Steve’s wife, Linda, we have set up the Steve Rawlings Memorial Fund in his honour.

4 February 2013

A new section available

A new section with blogs has been made available, and a few new blogs have been started already: Astro, Funding news, OSMOSIS Research Cruise and Alumni are already up.

To visit, go to the top menu at the home page -> MORE -> BLOGS

21 December 2012

The project was one of three shortlisted in the category "Outstanding Research Impact" for the 2013 Guardian University Awards. Climateprediction.net, using volunteer computing to run climate simulations, is one of the world's longest-running public-participation scientific research projects with a number of high-profile research outputs over the past decade, including featuring on the covers of both Nature and Science."

Congratulations to Professor Myles Allen and his team.