Professor Brian Foster awarded IOP Honorary Fellowship

24 June 2020

Particle physicist Professor Brian Foster OBE, FRS from Oxford’s Department of Physics has been made an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Physics, the highest honour that the Institute of Physics can bestow.

Professor Foster has been a leader in experimental particle physics for 40 years both nationally and internationally. He is Donald H. Perkins Professor of Experimental Physics and Professorial Fellow at Balliol College, University of Oxford.
‘I am deeply honoured to become an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Physics, of which I have been a member since I was a graduate student,’ Professor Foster confirms. ‘I look forward to continuing to assist the work of the Institute of Physics and advance the profession of physics in the future.’

Pioneering work

Known for his pioneering work in high-energy particle physics, he has made major contributions to the study of elementary particles such as heavy quarks and leptons and is a leader in the development and analysis of electron–positron and electron–proton colliders.

He co-founded the IOP Particle Physics Group in 1984 and afterwards chaired the Nuclear and Particle Physics Division and served as a member of Council and the Institute’s Finance Committee. He has held important positions at both the Science and Engineering Research Council (SERC) and the Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council (PPARC) and chaired the Physics Panel of REF2014.
Brian Foster has held many advisory positions at both CERN and DESY, including Scientific Adviser to the UK delegation to the CERN Council. He was also Chair of the European Committee for Future Accelerators and a member of the International Committee for Future Accelerators; the coordinating body for world particle physics.

A remarkable contribution

He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2008, and held the position of Vice-President in 2018.

As European Director of the International Linear Collider, and as a member of the International Advisory Committee for the Chinese Electron-Positron Collider, he has led international efforts towards the next major accelerator in particle physics.

‘Professor Foster is a brilliant physicist and this honour is richly deserved,’ adds Professor Ian Shipsey, Head of Department at Oxford’s Department of Physics. ‘He has made – and continues to make – a remarkable contribution to the field. We are absolutely delighted that he is a member of our faculty and incredibly proud of this recognition.’