BTM Willis Prize awarded to Oxford physicist

1 May 2019

Dr Roger Johnson has been awarded the BTM Willis prize for his work on the understanding of magnetic and magnetoelectric phenomena achieved through state-of-the-art structural studies of complex crystalline solids. The prize is jointly awarded by the Institute of Physics and Royal Society of Chemistry Neutron Scattering Groups to an early career researcher. Dr Johnson is a Royal Society University Research Fellow in the Quantum Materials section of the sub-department of Condensed Matter Physics. His expertise is in neutron and x-ray diffraction techniques, and a recent highlight of his work was the elucidation of a manganese oxide phase considered to be one of the most complex magnetic structures ever solved.