Four Royal Society University Research Fellowships for Physics

4 July 2017

The Royal Society has announced the appointment of 43 new University Research Fellows (URFs) for 2017. The University Research Fellowship scheme aims to provide outstanding early career scientists, who have the potential to become leaders in their chosen fields, with the opportunity to build an independent research career. The scheme is extremely competitive and URFs are expected to be strong candidates for permanent posts in universities at the end of their fellowships, and many have gone on to enjoy significant national or international recognition for their work.
The department is proud to announce the four new Oxford Physics University Research Fellows: Dr. James Frost (Particle Physics), Dr. Adam Ingram (Astrophysics), Dr. Ralph Schoenrich (Theory) and Dr. Suzie Sheehy (Particle Physics).
The newly appointed fellows will be working on a wide range of research areas including detecting the particles that make up dark matter and how they interact by using data from the Large Hadron Collider; probing strong field gravity by mapping accreting black holes; unravelling the structure and history of the Milky Way and other galaxies and exploring new pathways for the next generation of high intensity hadron colliders.

The full list of appointments can be viewed here