Prof Julia Yeomans awarded the EPJE - Pierre Gilles De Gennes Lecture Prize

16 April 2013

Prof Julia Yeomans, Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics has been awarded the EPJE Pierre Gilles De Gennes Lecture Prize, for her profound contribution to the study of the dynamical behaviour of complex and active liquids in confined geometries.

The award ceremony will be chaired by Editor in Chief of EPJE, Prof Daan Frenkel, who will introduce Prof Yeomans' Plenary Talk at the ISMC13.

This initiative of the European Physical Journal E - Soft Matter and Biological Physics takes the name from the illustrious Nobel laureate who founded the journal. The prize (1000 euros) is sponsored by the publishers of EPJ (EPD Sciences, SIF and Springer) and is awarded to outstanding scientists for their contribution to Soft Matter research.

Prof Yeomans is an expert in theoretical and computational physics, particularly statistical physics, hydrodynamics, soft condensed matter and biological physics. Among her current research interests are microswimmers, active systems, liquid crystals and the interactions of fluids with structured surfaces. She holds an ERC Advanced Grant ‘Microflow in Complex Environments’.