Dirac Medal awarded to Prof Graham Ross FRS

2 July 2012

Prof Graham Ross FRS has been awarded the 2012 Dirac Medal of the UK Institute of Physics for his theoretical work in developing both the Standard Model of fundamental particles and forces and theories beyond the Standard Model that have led to many new insights into the origins and nature of the universe.

The medal is awarded for outstanding contributions to theoretical Physics, mathematical or computational Physics. Prof Ross joins other distinguished past winners from the Rudolf Peierls Centre: Rudolf Peierls (1991), John Cardy FRS(2000), David Sherrington FRS (2007) and Prof James Binney FRS (2010).