Winner of the 2011 IoP Superconductivity Group Prize

28 January 2012

Professor Andrew Boothroyd has been awarded the 2011 Institute of Physics Superconductivity Group Prize for his contributions to our understanding of the interplay between magnetism and superconductivity using neutron scattering techniques. Recent important contributions include studies on iron-based superconductors that show that the spin excitation spectrum extends to sufficiently high energies to mediate high-Tc superconductivity and on magnetic stripes that show they are a key ingredient in understanding the magnetic scattering in the copper oxide superconductors.

The Prize is awarded to a scientist working in the UK who has made a significant contribution in the field of superconductivity in the last few years - with particular emphasis given to recent work.