11 January 2013

Professor James Binney is awarded the RAS Eddington Medal 2013

The Eddington Medal is awarded for investigations of outstanding merit in astrophysics and in 2013 is awarded to Professor James Binney from the University of Oxford, in recognition of his fundamental and enduring contributions to galactic astrophysics. Prof.

21 December 2012 shortlisted at the Guardian University Awards

The project was one of three shortlisted in the category "Outstanding Research Impact" for the 2013 Guardian University Awards., using volunteer computing to run climate simulations, is one of the world's longest-running public-participation scientific research projects with a number of high-profile research outputs over the past decade, including featuring on the covers of both Nature and Science."

Hamburg/Paris/Oxford Workshop on Astroparticle Physics with Multiple Messengers

15 Jan 2013 - 2:00pm to 17 Jan 2013 - 1:00pm
Fisher Room
Specialised / research interest

This is the third in a series of workshops on astro-particle physics with multiple messengers and the first to take place in Oxford.

It includes a series of lectures on the topic at the post-graduate level given by members of the collaboration. These lectures are open to all interested.

Presentations of their current research will also be given by PhD students of the collaboration. These, however take place behind closed doors.

The programme is listed below:

For more information contact: 

Julien Devriendt (

3 October 2012

Oxford Climate Research Network launched

The newly launched Oxford Climate Research Network (OCRN) is a cross-divisional initiative aiming to promote collaborations between scientists who investigate climate-related issues in various departments at Oxford, and increase the visibility of climate research both within and outside the University.

27 September 2012

Dr Sam Stranks awarded the IoP's Roy Thesis Prize

Congratulations to Dr Sam Stranks, who was recently presented with the Institute of Physics’ Roy Thesis Prize. The prize is awarded annually to the best nominated thesis in condensed matter and materials physics.

20 September 2012

Prof Mike Glazer wins the Jan Czochralski Medal

Congratulations to Emeritus Professor Mike Glazer on winning the Jan Czochralski Award of the European Materials Research Society. The medal was presented on 19 September 2012 at the E-MRS Fall Meeting in Warsaw, with laudation for the prize delivered by Professor Ekhard Salje FRS from Cambridge University. The award recognizes lifetime achievements in Materials Science - in Mike's case particularly his highly cited works on perovskites.

19 September 2012

New website: Why String Theory? Unravels the mysteries of String Theory for the public

Why String Theory? website aims to provide the general public with an introduction to the mysteries of string theory.

You’ll learn where string theory came from, why people research it and what they hope to find out. No prior knowledge of higher physics or mathematics is assumed, but nevertheless there is sufficient depth of material for you to be able to gain a true insight into current developments.

18 September 2012

Nicholas Kurti Prize 2012

Condensed Matter Physics is delighted to announce that Mr Chaw Keong Yong, third year postgraduate student, has been awarded the Nicholas Kurti Prize 2012 for the best presentation and distinguished work by a third year postgraduate student.

31 August 2012

John Adams Institute is expanding

The John Adams Institute for Accelerator Science is expanding, with a new research base at Imperial College London joining two existing centres at Royal Holloway, University of London and the University of Oxford.