9 November 2015

Crucial work by Oxford University physicists on the neutrino has been recognised with a share of the
Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics for their roles in the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO) and T2K experiments.

More information here

5 November 2015

On 15 June 2015, V404 Cygni (V404 Cyg), a binary system comprising a sun-like star orbiting a black hole, woke up. A huge outburst of energy across the electromagnetic spectrum ‘lit up’ the sky. The last such outburst was 1989. Dr. Kunal Mooley carried out an intensive observing campaign with the AMI telescope at Cambridge to monitor V404 Cyg. This work, carried out in close collaboration with Professor Robert Fender of the Oxford Astrophysics sub-department, has helped paint a stunning picture how black holes can launch relativistic jets.

3 November 2015

Different branches of science typically deal with very different concepts and research subjects that seldom overlap. Though once in a while, a common idea can emerge, propagate across different fields, and lead to rare discoveries appreciated by scientists in all fields, showing the generality, profoundness, and beauty of science.

1 November 2015

Three million euros for European Plasma Research Accelerator with eXcellence in In Applications (EUPRAXIA) project

The European Union supports the development of a novel plasma particle accelerator with three million euros from the Horizon2020 program. The EU project EuPRAXIA will produce a design study for a European plasma research accelerator focussing on applications of the new technology. Plasma acceleration promises to shrink costs and size of particle accelerators for science, medical applications and industry significantly.

27 October 2015

Congratulations to Prof Peter Read who has been awarded the Lewis Fry Richardson Medal of the European Geosciences Union.
The medal is awarded for exceptional contributions to non-linear geosciences. More information here.

13 October 2015

Condensed Matter Physics is delighted to announce that Mr Han Peng, first year postgraduate student, has been awarded the Arthur H Cooke Memorial prize 2015 for distinguished work by a first year research student in Condensed Matter Physics.

Well done Han.

6 October 2015

Winner: Kylash Rajendran, “The Goal"
Runner up: Nathalie Schaller

Winner: Ben Bronselaer
Runner up: Joe Hitchen, “The Pacific Ocean meets Isabela Island"

Winner: Peter Read, “Going, going, gone … "
Runner up: Bethan White, "Double exposure of the lunar eclipse taken from Brill”

The winners and runners-up can be viewed in this attachment. The winning photos from each category will also be framed and displayed in the department.

6 October 2015

Congratulations to the prizewinners at the AOPP Retreat! We had a very high standard of talks and posters but the following stood out in particular for presenting novel physics results in a very clear and engaging presentation.

Best talk: Tobias Thornes for his talk on forecast skill using imprecise computing Runner up: Tomos David for his talk on entropy measures of evolving oceanic flows

Best poster: Cheikh Mbengue for his poster on storm tracks and climate change Runner up: Hannah Christensen for her poster on a new skill score for probabilistic forecasts

23 September 2015

On 22nd September 2015 the contract for HARMONI, the E-ELT first light integral field spectrograph was signed by STFC and

4 September 2015

An exotic particle – the Weyl fermion, has recently been discovered in a compound called tantalum arsenide (TaAs) by an international collaboration of scientists lead by Oxford physicists.

The Weyl fermion is an intriguing chiral massless particle, which was named after the mathematician and physicist, Hermann Weyl in 1930s. Over the past century, it has been the research subject of high energy physicists, and various interesting particles in the universe, including neutrinos, were speculated as Weyl fermions. However, none has been confirmed unfortunately.