6 October 2015

Winner: Kylash Rajendran, “The Goal"
Runner up: Nathalie Schaller

Winner: Ben Bronselaer
Runner up: Joe Hitchen, “The Pacific Ocean meets Isabela Island"

Winner: Peter Read, “Going, going, gone … "
Runner up: Bethan White, "Double exposure of the lunar eclipse taken from Brill”

The winners and runners-up can be viewed in this attachment. The winning photos from each category will also be framed and displayed in the department.

6 October 2015

Congratulations to the prizewinners at the AOPP Retreat! We had a very high standard of talks and posters but the following stood out in particular for presenting novel physics results in a very clear and engaging presentation.

4 September 2015

An exotic particle – the Weyl fermion, has recently been discovered in a compound called tantalum arsenide (TaAs) by an international collaboration of scientists lead by Oxford physicists.

The Weyl fermion is an intriguing chiral massless particle, which was named after the mathematician and physicist, Hermann Weyl in 1930s. Over the past century, it has been the research subject of high energy physicists, and various interesting particles in the universe, including neutrinos, were speculated as Weyl fermions.

2 September 2015

The Physics Department is sad to announce the death of Professor Harry Jones.

Harry, who was 70 in February, joined the department in 1968 and served Oxford Physics for 44 years before formally retiring in 2012. He was well known around the world for his great expertise in superconducting magnets, which formed the basis of high magnetic field work done in the Clarendon Laboratory over very many years. His legacy is kept alive by the newly formed Oxford Centre for Applied Superconductivity.

Our condolences go to his wife Linda, and to his wider family.

17 August 2015

DNA origami is a technique that is used to create nanometre–scale shapes by folding strands of DNA. Writing in the journal Nature, a group of researchers from Condensed Matter Physics, Theoretical Physics and Computer Science at Oxford investigate how DNA origami folds.

14 August 2015

We are delighted to announce that Dr Roger Johnson has been awarded a prestigious Royal Society University Research Fellowship. Dr Johnson has been a post-doc in the Quantum Materials group from November 2010 to June 2015, and he is currently an Instrument Scientist at the ISIS neutron source.

Roger will hold his Fellowship in the Quantum Materials Group at Oxford.

14 August 2015

The Department of Physics is delighted to announce that Prof James Binney, FRS has been awarded the Occhialini medal and prize for 2015. The citation for James' award reads, "For his work on galaxy dynamics, in particular for developing an understanding of how galaxies exchange gas with the intergalactic medium and how this exchange controls the evolution of galaxy morphology."

In 2007 the Italian Physical Society together with the Institute of Physics instituted the Occhialini medal and prize to honor the memory of Giuseppe Occhialini.

29 July 2015

Sir Christopher Llewellyn Smith FRS has been awarded the Royal Society 2015 Royal Medal "for his major contributions to the development of the Standard Model, particularly his success in making the case for the building of the Large Hadron Collider.”

Further details can be found here.

14 July 2015

The LHCb experiment at CERN has reported the discovery of a class of particles known as pentaquarks which have eluded physicists’ searches for over 50 years.

1 July 2015

Prof Chris Lintott has been awarded the Institute of Physics 2015 Kelvin Medal and Prize "For his major contributions to public engagement with science through conventional media (especially through television) and by leading citizen science projects through Zooniverse, opening a new chapter in the history of science by enabling hundreds of thousands of people to participate in the process of scientific discovery."

Further details can be found here