Theoretical physics

News involving the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics

6 June 2016

Supersymmetry squeezed at the high-energy frontier

First year Oxford graduate student Jesse Liu has just released a paper showing how the increase in LHC energy from 8 to 13 TeV has squeezed the permissible models of the theory of supersymmetry.

Supersymmetric theories predicts particles that could help explain the mysterious dark matter in our universe, and which can be produced at the LHC, so they are well worth pursuing.

6 May 2016

Prof Andre Lukas awarded MPLS Most Acclaimed Lecturer

Prof Andre Lukas has been awarded the Most Acclaimed Lecturer in MPLS by OUSU. The OUSU Teaching Awards are student led, more information can be found here.

Colloquia Series Trinity Term 2016: Lobanov- Rostovsky Lecture - Professor Raymond Pierrehumbert - “The origins and evolution of exoplanet astmospheres and oceans”

27 May 2016 (All day)
Clarendon Laboratory, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, Parks Road, Oxford, OX1 3PU

Atmospheres are dynamic entities, formed from the volatile substances that accrete when a planet is formed and later in its history, cooked out in the hot-high pressure interior of the planet, and exchanging with the interior through crustal processes (for planets which have a solid surface) or mixing into the deep interior (for fluid planets). Loss of atmosphere to space is also a major mechanism whereby the chemical composition of entire planets evolve.

Colloquia Series Trinity Term 2016: Professor Bruce Remington - “Frontier Science on the National Ignition Facility (NIF)”

29 Apr 2016 - 3:30pm
Clarendon Laboratory, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, Parks Road, Oxford, OX1 3PU

The combination of high energy density (HED) facilities around the world spanning microjoules to megajoules, with time scales ranging from femtoseconds to microseconds, enables new regimes of plasma science to be experimentally probed. The ability to shock and ramp compress samples at Mbar pressures and simultaneously probe them allows dense, strongly coupled, Fermi degenerate plasmas relevant to planetary interiors, as well as solid-state lattice dynamics and plastic flows, to be studied.

22 April 2016

Colloquia Series Trinity Term 2016

Oxford Physics Colloquia

The following lectures will be given at 3.30pm on Fridays in the Martin Wood Lecture Theatre, Clarendon Laboratory, unless otherwise stated. Tea will be served in the Common Room at 4.30 pm.

24 February 2016

The Scientific Legacy of Dick Dalitz

On 11 February 2016, the weekly seminar of the Particle Theory Group in the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics was devoted to a celebration of the work of Richard H Dalitz FRS (1925-2006) who founded the group in 1963. His distinguished ex-students Frank Close (DPhil 1969) and Sir Christopher Llewellyn-Smith FRS (DPhil 1971) gave accounts of the seminal contributions Dick made to our understanding of the fundamental structure of matter.

Final Dennis Sciama Memorial Lecture

3 Mar 2016 - 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Martin Wood Complex, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, Parks Road, Oxford, OX1 3PU
General public (Age 14+)

The Final Dennis Sciama Lecture will be delivered by Professor David Deutsch FRS on Thursday 3rd March 2016 @ 17:30 in the Martin Wood Lecture Theatre.

27 January 2016

Felix Parra Diaz awarded the Prize to the Best Young Theoretical Physicist

Congratulations to Felix Parra Diaz who has been awarded the Prize to the Best Young Theoretical Physicist by the Royal Physical Society of Spain and the BBVA Foundation. More information (in Spanish) can be found here.

11 January 2016

Ralph Schoenrich awarded 2016 Winton Capital Award by RAS

The Royal Astronomical Society has awarded the Winton Capital Award in astronomy for 2016 to Dr Ralph Schoenrich of the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics. The prize of £1000 is given annually to the post-doctoral researcher working in the UK whose career show the most promise within 5 years of their PhD examination. Dr Schoenrich works to understand the structure and history of our Galaxy. He has both pioneered new ways to model Galactic evolution and invented new techniques for analysing survey data.

17 August 2015

How to fold a DNA origami

DNA origami is a technique that is used to create nanometre–scale shapes by folding strands of DNA. Writing in the journal Nature, a group of researchers from Condensed Matter Physics, Theoretical Physics and Computer Science at Oxford investigate how DNA origami folds.