Fellowship opportunities

The following are schemes for which we support multiple applications every year. For all deadlines in September and October 2017, please give notice of your wish to apply by emailing fellowships (at) physics.ox.ac.uk by 1st July latest. All applications for fellowships require approval by the Department. The UK research councils EPSRC, STFC, NERC, BBSRC and MRC each have different scientific remits so please establish which covers your area of research.

The Royal Society - University Research Fellowships

This scheme is for outstanding scientists in the UK at an early stage of their career who have the potential to become leaders in their field. The deadline for 2017 is expected to be in early September.

H2020 Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellowships

MCSA IFs are for two years only and usually involve joining an established research group in the Department. An academic (faculty) member of the Department will be needed as a host, so please contact the person whose group you would wish to join. The next deadline is 14th September 2017 and your CV will be required at an early stage in order to gain approval to proceed with an application.

EPSRC Fellowships

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council offers a number of Fellowships appropriate for different career stages. A number of specific areas are open for fellowships awards, including in physical, engineering and energy sciences. Deadlines occur a couple of times per year and vary by topic.

STFC Ernest Rutherford Fellowships

The Science and Technology Facilities Council offer 12 Fellowships each year to early-career researchers in astrophysics, particle physics and accelerator physics. The 2017 deadline is 21st September. A quota system applies for each university and so it is essential that you prepare a draft application and supply this with your CV by 20th July in order to be considered for one of our applications. Please contact a member of academic staff with a research area similar to your interests as soon as possible for further information and guidance.

Potential candidates must send a draft application with CV and list of publications (in the required STFC format) to the appropriate sub-department contact by the 20th July, and must ask their nominated referee to email the contact directly in support of your application by the same date.

Particle Physics: Ian Shipsey cc Sue Geddes by 14th July
Theoretical Physics: Subir Sarkar (Particle Theory) or John Magorrian (Theoretical Astrophysics and Plasma Physics) cc Michelle Bosher
Planetary Physics: Patrick Irwin
Astrophysics: Steve Balbus cc Leanne O'Donnell

NERC Independent Research Fellowships

The Natural Environment Research Council offers Fellowships in areas including atmospheric and oceanic sciences and earth observation. The deadline is usually early October.

UKSA Aurora Fellowships

The UK Space Agency offers Fellowships in science associated with planetary exploration in order to enhance the UK’s capabilities and cross-disciplinary approach to planetary science. No deadline currently advertised but in 2016 it was late July.

Glasstone Research Fellowship in Science

The Glasstone Research Fellowships in Science are supported by the Glasstone Bequest and are awarded to early career researchers in memory of Professor Samuel Glasstone and his first wife, Violette.
There are two posts available. Applicants should have completed their doctorate by the time of taking up the Fellowship.
The deadline for Fellowship applications is usually in December. Awards start the following October.
The Fellowships are advertised as vacancies at the University vacancies site and at jobs.ac.uk.